Scraps and Blogs

2005-02-21 - 7:31 p.m.

no, I haven't dropped off the face of the earth! I took my laptop out of my bedroom, in an attempt to actually go to sleep at a decent hour rather than getting sucked into the blog-vortex, and now, I've gone days without updating! It's not the writing that takes long, it's reading all of you guys!!!

I don't feel rested quite yet, but I'm getting a good 60 to 90 minutes more of sleep, so I'm sure I'll see the benefits soon.

I have been using whatever little new enevergy I've got to get my house in order. We moved in a week before I went to China, 9 months ago. Back in mid-July, I blogged about how I hoped to unpack my craft room that week... I did it this weekend! Only 8 months later! My very dear friend D (whom I met at cookbook committee last year and have become so found of!) has been wanting to make a special scrapbook for her grandmother. We've been talking about it for weeks, but when she and her hubby came for dinner on Shabbat, we made a date for Sunday.

At first, I thought I would just bring up a couple of Rubbermaid containers to the dining room and we would just dig through them to find what we needed, but then, I thought about all the accounting work I had to do for the store and the fact that I have nowhere comfortable to do it. I thought about the hundreds of pictures of my Dumpling that I got printed, but haven't gotten around to putting in albums or scrapbooking yet. I took a look at my own scrabooks and was shocked to find the last page is of a trip to Wisconsin in October 2002, before IVF, before Dumpling.....

So I got my butt in gear, moved all the boxes and rubbermaid bins out of the room and started from scratch. I have unpacked my craft room. 80% of it anyways. There are some books I don't know where to put yet, and the fabric stash needs some sort of bookshelf/organiser, but the desk, tools, supplies for sewing, knitting, scrapbooking, they are all tidy and ready to go. So when D came over Sunday morning, we had a scrapping party!

Which brings me to my final point: thank G-d for blogging. I really wanted to keep a nice Milestones Diary for dumpling, but as happens often, I didn't get around to it. So I brought up the archives of this blog since her arrival and was easily able to reconstruct every detail of the last 9 months: new words, favorite foods, what made her laugh, new discoveries. It's all in here, buried in the TV talk and shopping reports.

Oh, I also framed every pro photo we own (all those cruise photos and Dumpling's holiday pics), fixed the front door jam and replaced batteries in Dumpling's toys... Watch out! I might actually get everythign done and have nothing left to complain about!!!!

Anything to add? 2


Last Entry ~ Next Entry

bullet - green��bullet - green

Copyright Mortimer�s Mom 2004. But just ask, I give my permission easily!