lesssons learned while traveleing

2005-01-11 - 6:34 p.m.

things you learn when you travel with a toddler:

if the firt port of call, ont eh 3rd day of the trip, is cancelled for bad weather, your day will suck! Because 3 consecutive days in a tiny cabin is too many!

If you finally get off the ship in Panama for a 4 hours tour and it takes 6 and a half hours, you won't make many friends on the bus..... especially if they are all elderly and aren't intersted in your cute little dumpling....

that's it for now, at 35 cents a minute....

Anything to add? 2

The missing husband

2005-01-06 - 9:13 p.m.

we're leaving for our cruise in the morning. Flight is at 7:30 am, so we gotta be out the door by 5.

But in great pre-vacation tradition, m y husband gave us a bit of excitement tonight. Once, he lost his wallet between the cab and the airport check-in, once he crossed the border into the US without a wallet, no ID, nothing. He never has his cell phone with him and when he does, the battery is dead. So today, he took his sister to the airport at 3:30, dropped her at the curb at 4:00, and walked into the house at 8:30. Four and a half hours later.....

There was a bit of a snow storm, which turned into a traffic jam from hell. But with no phone, no way of knowing which route he took, the only thing we knew for sure was that his sister was sitting at the airport (SHE had a phone!) and he was alive an well at 4:00.... first, we thought it was funny. haha, my husband never has his phone, haha, my husband likes to drive me nuts before we go on vaction. But then it was 2 hours, then 3 hours. I called the cops, but they had nothing to tell me: it's snowing lady, there's traffic, he'll come home.

I figured he ran out of gas and couldn't call for a tow because he didn't have his phone.... Luckily, he came home unharmed, just tired and hungry and probably with a sore bumm from sitting in the car for 4 hours....

This should be one good vacation!

PS: I will try to blog while away, but no promises!

Anything to add? 2

Alias returns, with a big surprise for me!

2005-01-05 - 11:08 p.m.

What a night! Lost was back, followed by my long awaited ALIAS. And then, imagine the level of excitement at my house when Vaughn sat down on the train and the camera pulled back to reveal that the main bad guy was being played by someone we know!(check out the entry on the 28th)

My husband doesn't watch Alias, but I paused it and made him come downstairs to assertain that I hadn't lost my mind, but no, sure enough, that is indeed our friend's college roommate.... Great job Rick! And if you ever do shoot in Montreal, I still want to take you to lunch (although I'm not sure he'd appreciate the Dumpling's table manners!)

Anything to add? 2

That's Master to you!

2005-01-05 - 7:42 p.m.

If there is a college somewhere that offers a degree in packing, they owe me a Master's, and I'm well on my way to a PhD! (*if you can study Keanu Reeves in College, why can't you study packing?)

I was pretty much done packing yesterday, except for a new pair of black slacks that I had to buy today. And I did such a fabulous job keeping things down to a reasonable quantity, I had so much room left in my suitcase, I rewarded myself with a 4th pair of shoes! So I'll be traveling with my walking Naots, bringing high heels for evenings, Camper open toe slides for day and beach, and I added a pair of flat pink ballet slides that can work for day and night.

I am so freaking proud of myself! I'm sure Dumpling's suitcase probably has a couple of outfits too many, and she'll probably have so much to do on the ship she won't touch the toys I packed, but we've only got one suitcase each, one small carry-on each (backpacks), the diaper bag, the Dumpling's very own backpack and the stroller.

Just call me Mortimer's Mom, Master of Packing.

Anything to add? 0

let's plug her in!

2005-01-03 - 3:35 p.m.

Poor Julie is desperate for a wireless baby, and I wish her a wireless Charlie v.v. soon. I, on the other hand, am planning various ways of plugging the Dumpling in to keep her entertained on our trip.
We bought a portable DVD player, both to keep her entertained an hour a day, and for mommy and daddy to have something to do for the hours we'll have to spend in the cabin supervising naps and early bedtimes. I'm bringing the first season of Alias, hubby is bringing Seinfeld, and we're planning on watching The Godfather 1 through 3 together.

We also got her a cheap mp3 player and loaded it with 31 assorted songs, raging from kids stuff, to Dan Zane and her french Canadian favorite: Bean Dommage (70 folk/rock band, my baby's got weird musical taste!). The problem with the mp3 player is that the battery recharges only via USB port to a computer, and since there is no WiFi on the boat, I'm not bringing my laptop (trying to keep packing light!!!!), so I plan on becoming best friends with the clerk at the internet cafe and hope to be able to recharge the player on their computer.
We got a few new books, a Fisher Price Little People Pet store (it was the smallest L.P. set and she LOVES dogs) and the aquadoodle, which folds down really small.
The amount of crap piling up in the guest room in pre-packing stage is staggering. I plan on bringing the strict minimum for myself, but considering how dirty I get on a daily basis thanks to my little food spreader, I don't know how little I can get away with. I know I theoretically could do laundry on the boat, but who wants to do laundry on vacation???

Anything to add? 1


Last Entry ~ Next Entry

bullet - green��bullet - green

Copyright Mortimer�s Mom 2004. But just ask, I give my permission easily!