Stock pile of Pringles

2003-05-15 - 10:54 a.m.

Should I be hording Pringles? Stock piling them in case of snacking emergency? I heard there was a fire last week at one of the 2 plants that makes Pringles, and that the supply may be low for a while.... Pringles are not only yummy, they are one of the few snacks that I can find in almost any store that are Kosher, always. Lots of stuff is Kosher sometimes, depending on what plant it came from, or wether the rabbi made it to work that week, but Pringles are ALWAYS Kosher. I've never, ever seen un-kosher Pringles.

You must think I'm Pringles-obsessed. I'm really not, I don't eat them that often, I do keep a tin on hand at work for a quick snack when I can't get out to buy a piece of fruit (OK, now I'm kidding, I've NEVER gone out and bought a piece of fruit!). But the thought that they might be in short supply.... well, maybe I'll just go buy a few tins.

Season Finales: West Wing was OK. Nothing spectcular. Are their writers spending their free time with the writers of 24. How is it that two top shows both used the 25th amendment as pivital parts of their writing? I also found last night's Law and Order to be lacking in originality. Washington Sniper meets Phone Booth. Too plain. AI2: I was sorry to see Kim Locke go.

Tonight, 4 finales, hopefully they won't be too blah.

Anything to add? 0

She's So Unusual

2003-05-14 - 4:00 p.m.

I get these weird obsessions sometimes, they just take over... For example, when I pick a CD to play at the store, I will listen to it over and over again all day. I could change it, it's less than 3 feet away, but I don't, I just play it over and over again.

For example, last week, my dear hubby put in Cyndi Lauper's She So Unusual. There are only 10 tracks on it. I've listened to it 3 times already today, along with about a dozen times yesterday. It does generate a very response from customers, but that is really not the reason why I'm playing it, that's just a bonus.

I've been doing the same thing with pink for months now. Everything I buy is pink. Today, I am wearing pink shoes, pink pants and a pink t-shirt (whit a grey cardigan to offset the look). It actually looks very nice, but why do I do this?

I don't drink, I don't smoke, I don't have an addictive personality in general, I just obsess over the weirdest things.....

Anything to add? 0

No Day-Glo orange here!

2003-05-14 - 10:45 a.m.

I'm all tanned and pretty in pink today! Wearing pink from head to toe to show off my fabulous spray tan! It wasn't what I was expecting. I had seen the car-wash type booth on tv once, but this was a girl with an air brush and a little bottle of the active ingredient in self-tanner. You just stand there in your underwear and she sprays you very carefully.

15 minutes later, you walk out already slighly tanned. 6 hours later, I looked like I had spent a week in Miami. OR at least I guess that's what I'd look like if I spent a week on the beach tanning - something I have never done. You see, I don't tan. I've burned twice, but otherwise, my skin has no reaction to sun. 4 months in Venezuela and I came back looking like I spent 4 months in Iceland.

So I fear I will become addicted to this spray-tan thing. Honestly, I look great! It's only slightly fake looking, but she told me by tomorrow it will really look totaly natural. I'm of the Casper-the-friendly-ghost skin persuasion, so this is a whole new world for me! I made an appointment for next week, to have it re-done in time for the wedding on the 25th. The only thing that would keep me from doing it every week would be the price $35 CDN for the full body. But I guess I could just do my face.... that might look odd....

Gotta spend two seconds on AI2. The final 3 were SMOKING last night! I know Ruben's got a huge following, but I thought Kim and Clay were absolutely fabulous, and if anything, Ruben was just Ruben.

Mu hubby is down with a bad cold. He feels like crap. I feel sorry for him, but other than picking up his shift at the store and getting the dog our of his air for the day, I really don't know what I could do to make him feel better. Hon, hope you feel better soon!

Speaking of feeling better soon, check out one of my favorite blogs, Mimi Smartypants, and make sure you clap to cheer her up!

Anything to add? 0

Spring has Sprung Season Finales

2003-05-13 - 10:24 a.m.

Back to normal, Back at work. It's a rainy day today, I don't anticipate many customers.

The new store is not only fabulous, it's working like crazy! Saturday being the day before Mother's Day, we were anticipating some higher traffic than normal, but we had our THIRD biggest day ever, that was totally unexpexted!

Yesterday was our first wedding anniversary. One year, wow! It was also our day off and the weather was horrible, so we just vegged at home, did a little shopping and went out for a really fancy dinner. My dear hubby got me a wonderful Kate Spade purse. I can't beleive it! How generous! I'd been wanting one for a long time, but could never bring myself to spend that kind of money on a purse. Now, not only do I have one, it will forever remind me of my hubby and our first anniversary.

This is a rather depressing time of year for me: Season Finale Time! I hate season finales! You have to wait 3 to 4 months to find out what happens! Not fair! That Alias cliff hanger was enough to make my head spin! I'm really mad that Jenna won Survivor, I was rooting for Rob, or Matt, but not Jenna. And what is with two-parters??? West Wing left me hanging last week, and I got all invested in Without a Trace the other night, only to be left high and dry at the end! Not enjoying it!

I'm going for one of those spray-on fake tans today.... We're attending a wedding in 2 weeks and my Casper the Friendly Ghost look doesn't quite go with my dress, so I'm gonna give this a try. It's early enough to be gone if it's horrible and leaves enough time to do it again next week if it works out. I'll keep you posted!

Anything to add? 0

Welcome back to the real world

2003-05-09 - 10:54 a.m.

I'm back! It feels so good to have a few minutes to myself.... I haven't even been taking regular bathroom breaks in the last 5 days.

In two years, when our lease is up on the store (which technically we haven't even signed yet, but I digress) and we think of moving again. DO * NOT * LET * ME * DO * IT !!!! IT was hell! I have never, ever been so tired in my whole life. Forget Survivor or Echo Challenge, I could do those in my sleep after the week I just had! (OK, I admit, there were no venemous snakes about, but still).

What did I learn from this experience? People are incredibly stupid and illiterate! For 2 weeks now, we've been telling anyone and everyone walking through our doors that we are moving downstairs. On Saturday, I put a giant poster-sign in the window upstairs saying we are movin downstairs, will be closed 3 days and re-open on Thursday the 8th. Then Monday morning, I put a giant CLOSED sign on the door downstairs, along with OPENING MAY 8th.

Well, at least 50 people walked in between Monday morning and Wednesday night asking either:

- Are we open?

- What's going on?

- Where is the store that used to be here?

- What do we sell?

AAARRRGGGGHHHH!!!!!! One lady, after I politely told her we were closed and would be opened on Thursday said: "Why don't you lock the door?" Jeez, I don't know, maybe because we are moving, and it involves carrying heavy boxes, so locking and unnlocking the door every 3 minutes would be a waist of time. Also, I thought the GIANT F***ING SINGS, the closed door and the huge pile of boxes might give you a clue that WE ARE NOT OPEN!

So Thursday morning came and went and the store was dead. No one came. I was beginning to think that I had turned away everyone during the move, but then, after lunch, people started coming. They loved the new store. People who had never been upstairs really liked our stuff, but the best was when regular customers started coming in. They were full of compliments and were discovering tons of products that they had never noticed in the cramped space before.

We ended up having a really good day, which was topped off by a late viewing of Survivor on Tivo, where I cheered for Heidi's demise. The best was watching Dave shake is head in his lap as she proclaimed how she was the mastermind behind some of the plots... in your dreams Heidi-Ho!

Anything to add? 1


Last Entry ~ Next Entry

bullet - green��bullet - green

Copyright Mortimer�s Mom 2004. But just ask, I give my permission easily!